Governor Bello Mohammed (Matawallen Maradun, Shattiman Sakkwato) has inaugurated a 20 man Anti-illegal mining committee under the Chairmanship of hisHonorary Special Adviser on Inter-Governmental Affairs, Alhaji Sani Abdullahi (Wamban Shinkafi).

Governor Matawalle said the institution of the committee was imperative in the light of the continued illegal mining activities despite outlawing of the practice which, in itself, is counter productive. “Even though mining is placed on the exclusive list in our constitution, mining activities have a huge impact on our State's economy and the lives of our people”, Governor Matawalle observed.

He further observed that the sector is very significant to the economy of the state. To underscore that importance, he noted that, “before the current suspension of mining activities in the State by the Federal Government, a survey had shown that over 100,000 artisanal miners are operating in the State”. 

However, as they produce roughly 10 tonnes of gold per year they sell it at a local value of 70-80% of the international price, the Governor noted. Of significant importance however, is the loss the Federal and state Government incurred due to non registration and abuse of procedure.

“The majority of miners working in the various mining fields do so without any type of license, such as reconnaissance, exploration, or mining leases license. This deprives the Federal Government of royalties and the State Government from access fees, ground rents, and other levies that the State may deem appropriate in order to facilitate the safety, security and wellbeing of the miners and the mining communities, all while remaining within the legal parameters” Governor Matawalle lamented.

It is also reported that the activities of illegal mining may have a link to the tertorist activities troubling the state, hence the ban by the Federal Government and the establishment of the anti illegal miming squad which the Committee at the state level will now complement.

The Committee has as its terms of reference to:identify the sites where mining activities take place in the State;

ii. determine the type and size of the activities taking place on each of the sites;

iii. to identify owners of the site and the genuineness of their ownership;

iv. to ascertain the extent of conformity of the mining activities in the State with mining regulations;

v. to advise the State Government on any other mining-related issue, as well as on mining revenue sources for the State;

9. The Committee has the following.

The committee has Dr Sani Abdullahi Shinkafi as Chairman and Alh. Shehu J Mohammed as Vice Chairman. The members of the committee include Alhaji Lawali Kamsila Damri member, Ayuba Salisu Dansadau, Ibrahim Rabiu Kanwa, Bashiru Galadima Gusau, Aliyu Ahmed Anka, Usman Manu Dogo, Mansur D Mohammed Nasarawa , Ahmed Yushau Dosara, Aliyu Mafara , Izala Bungudu, Surajo Bawa Tsafe , Salisu Amiru Maikuru ,Ibrahim Muazu Danmaliki, Mohammed Dan’idi Sugugu, Murtala Chairman Cotton , Dauda Ahmad ,Barr Surajo Usman Haske      as Secretary and Director Solids Minerals  Asst Secretary.

Zailani Bappa

Special Adviser

Public Enlightenment, Media and Communications.

Post a Comment